Home > Apologetics, Collateral Studies, Doctrine, Jesus Christ > Jesus is the Jewish Messiah

Jesus is the Jewish Messiah

(Apologetic for our Orthodox Jewish Friends)

Messiah in Old Testament: Gen. 3:15: And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Gal. 4:4: But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law

Messiah in Old Testament: II Sam. 7:12:   . . . I will set up thy seed after thee, which shall proceed out of thy bowels, and I will establish his kingdom.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Acts 13:22-23: . . .  David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart . . . Of this man’s seed hath God according to his promise raised unto Israel a Saviour, Jesus

Messiah in Old Testament: Deuteronomy 18:15: The LORD thy God will raise up unto thee a Prophet from the midst of thee, of thy brethren, like unto me; unto him ye shall hearken;

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Acts 3:20-22:  And he shall send Jesus Christ, which before was preached unto you . . .   For Moses truly said unto the fathers, A prophet shall the Lord your God raise up unto you of your brethren, like unto me; him shall ye hear in all things whatsoever he shall say unto you.

Messiah in Old Testament: Zechariah 9:9: . . . O daughter of Zion; shout, O daughter of Jerusalem: behold, thy King cometh unto thee: he is just, and having salvation; lowly, and riding upon an ass, and upon a colt the foal of an ass.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 21:5:  Tell ye the daughter of Sion, Behold, thy King cometh unto thee, meek, and sitting upon an ass, and a colt the foal of an ass.

Messiah in Old Testament: Isaiah  35:5-6:  Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf shall be unstopped.  Then shall the lame man leap as an hart, and the tongue of the dumb sing: for in the wilderness shall waters break out, and streams in the desert.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 11:4-5:  Jesus answered and said unto them, Go and shew John again those things which ye do hear and see:  The blind receive their sight, and the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, and the deaf hear, the dead are raised up, and the poor have the gospel preached to them.

Messiah in Old Testament: Isaiah 53:9:  And he made his grave with the wicked, and with the rich in his death; because he had done no violence, neither was any deceit in his mouth.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: I Peter 2:22: Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth:

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 41:9:  Yea, mine own familiar friend, in whom I trusted, which did eat of my bread, hath lifted up his heel against me.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: John 13:18-21: . . . that the scripture may be fulfilled, He that eateth bread with me hath lifted up his heel against me . . . one of you shall betray me.

Messiah in Old Testament: Zechariah 11:12: And I said unto them, If ye think good, give me my price; and if not, forbear. So they weighed for my price thirty pieces of silver.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 26:15:  And said unto them, What will ye give me, and I will deliver him unto you? And they covenanted with him for thirty pieces of silver.

Messiah in Old Testament: Micah 5:1: . . . they shall smite the judge of Israel with a rod upon the cheek.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 27:30: And they spit upon him, and took the reed, and smote him on the head.

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 22:1: My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?…

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 27:46:  And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 22:18:  They part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 27:35:  And they crucified him, and parted his garments, casting lots: that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophet . . .

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 69:21:  They gave me also gall for my meat; and in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Matthew 27:34:  They gave him vinegar to drink mingled with gall: and when he had tasted thereof, he would not drink.

Messiah in Old Testament: Isaiah 53:7: He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Mathew 27:12:  And when he was accused of the chief priests and elders, he answered nothing.

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 34:20:He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken

Jesus Christ in New Testament: John 19:33-36:  But when they came to Jesus, and saw that he was dead already, they brake not his legs: . . . that the scripture should be fulfilled, A bone of him shall not be broken.

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 16:10:  For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Acts 2:31:  He seeing this before spake of the resurrection of Christ, that his soul was not left in hell, neither his flesh did see corruption.

Messiah in Old Testament: Psalm 110:1: . . . The LORD said unto my Lord, Sit thou at my right hand, until I make thine enemies thy footstool.

Jesus Christ in New Testament: Hebrews 10:11-13:   And every priest standeth daily ministering and offering oftentimes the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins:  But this man, after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down on the right hand of God;  From henceforth expecting till his enemies be made his footstool.

These are only some of the many prophecies that the Lord Jesus Christ fulfilled during His earthly ministry.  Jesus clearly is the Messiah!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a reply (vulgarity and viciousness will not be posted)

